Vanilla Cake with fresh fruit topping

birla mandir

As opposed to one simple activity I love doing every morning I left the door of the hall closed….where Inder was lying on bed, sick.

More than a decade into marriage hood, I know the  things that upsets him so I didn’t take any chance and took my daily dose by peering out through the window.   As usual P Gs living across the street were strolling,  from one end to another in their relatively bigger balcony. All girls were carrying book in their hand, occasionally giving a quick glance at the street to take in the street view (just like me).  Virat’s school mates and other school kids were going to  school, some by themselves others with their parents.

Watching this and many more such simple activities for a few moments, I  took  my cup and laptop downstairs, in our mezzanine where there was no such comfortable place to sit  but have a welcoming option of  door and a window.  I need to bring my rocking chair over here, saying this to myself, when I  sat down on a trunk (bought last year  to stock my ever growing cake pans and molds), I saw a a sweet little bird coming in from somewhere and struck behind the curtain. To let her escape I opened the door widely.   After beating her wings for a few seconds, she made her way out.

Last few days over here were very busy, as for the whole week Virat was at home for not participating in their school annual function. Inder too was unwell(nothing to worry, just regular cough and cold) then we had our two big festivals (Karwa Chauth and Hoi), regular cooking, laundry, dusting, grocery shopping, were amongst the many reasons of my absence.rail museumBut in between that chaotic arrangements, we somehow managed a day out, first Birla Mandir, then Rail Museum. For Inder and me, it’s our first visit to Rail Museum but Virat had been there before…with his school.rail mueseum Visit After taking Joy ride, Inder expressed his desire to sit and relax but I chose to go ahead with my little guide who knew everything about the place and was very excited to show me around.   As we walked, he shared whatever little he know, at times telling by reading whatever was written on the information board. And, in between his experiences, I kept adding mine by sharing stories or little experiences that me and my father shared while traveling in many such trains. rail mueseum visit2
After walking there a little, I  started to feel tired and sat down on a platform from where it was easy to keep an eye on him. By then, my camera too had flashed the low battery sign, I regretted for not keeping it full charged. Sitting there, I entertained myself by watching  and responding the young school kids, who looked as excited as we were while taking joy ride. We remained there until we got a call from him asking us to come back.sunset

(Beautiful sunset amidst the heavy smog, while returning home)

On the way home, we stopped at Mc Donald to pack a few snacks.  Just outside that food joint  I noticed a fruit vendor carrying Persimmon in his fruit cart and seeing that I felt like cheering(did, I told you before that I love persimmon?).  I told Virat that I will come here again tomorrow to pick a few.

persimmonAs we got home, we enjoyed whatever we have packed. After watching t.v. for an hours they got busy in their own work; and I put some rice and milk to simmer on low gas as I have been told on Purnmashi, it’s good to make kheer at home. While he helped him learn mensuration, I came out in my balcony to enjoy some time alone. vanilla cake with fresh fruits topping

vanilla cake with fresh fruit topping
Now when Diwali is just around the corner, our next few days will be busy decorating our house, putting lights and making other preparations. So I am not sure whether I will find any time to say ‘hello’ before or on Diwali. So I want to  wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous Diwali in advance.

This was the cake I make on Inder’s birthday, which was in July.  I know, I am pretty late in posting this recipe but its better late than never.
Recipe courtesy Ricardocuisine
Serves 10
Ingredients

• Whole wheat flour – 3 cups
• Baking powder – 1 tbsp
• Salt – ½ tsp
• Eggs – 4
• Sugar – 2 cups
• vanilla essence – 1 tbsp
• oil – ¾ cup
• Milk – 1 ¼
Sugar syrup
Boiled water – ½ cup
• Sugar – 1 tsp
For frosting
• Whipped cream – 2 cups
• Fruits like apple and pomegranate
• Gel to brush the fruits to avoid discoloring
Method
Preheat the oven to 180 °C. Butter two 20-cm (8-inch) pans and line the bottom with baking paper. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, beat the eggs, sugar, and vanilla with an hand blender for about 10 minutes or until thick, pale and triple in volume. Drizzle in the oil and milk while beating. Now fold the dry ingredients into the wet. Divide the batter into the pans and bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean. Let cool for 15 minutes. Remove from the pans and let completely cool on a wire before frosting.
For syrup
Mix the sugar into the boiling water and let it cool until it comes down to room temperature.
For frosting
Whip the cream mixture by hand or with an hand blender until it holds a firm peak. Place one of the cake layers on a cake cardboard or platter, sprinkle some sugar syrup over the cake and then spread a little less than half the whipped cream. Top it with any fruit of your choice. Invert the second layer onto the cream, sprinkle some sugar syrup over the sponge and spread the cream outside of the cake with the remaining whipped cream. Garnish with chopped fruit. Brush some gel on fruits.

Leave a Reply

