Persimmon Loaf

Last few weeks have felt like we are on joy ride passing and taking the beauty of festivals, birthdays and anniversaries. Though I like to believe that we are still on board but I, know it’s been punctuated for a while.morning tea
I am sure by now, you must have packed the light carefully to avoid any clamping next year, decorations too must have been packed; lovely gifts have found a place in your almirahs and some less needed gifts must have stacked carefully, to use it later or to pass it on to others. I have done with that. For tomorrow, I am planning to take out the winter clothes. I know its cold already but thankfully we still have a few days before it’s too chilly. Yesterday, I realized that I forgot to pick a blanket from dry cleaner given last year, but thankfully he recovered that without any receipt.
Last week during my stay at my mom’s place, Virat and I got the opportunity to attend a Buddhist prayer meeting with my brother and SIL. When we reached there, members were chanting a prayer. We sat down and repeated after them. Later new member introduced themselves and when my turn came; I put everyone to shame by introducing myself wrongly (like I always do, when I am extra conscious). But the members didn’t laughed and graciously ignored my silliness. After the introduction, two of the members shared some very disturbing (they were sobbing while describing the experience) experience in their lives and told us how faith in themselves helped them to wrestled the situation. persimmonpersimmon loaf
Hearing about such experience has me thinking about the value of faith in our lives. On the way home, I tried to remember any such inspirational experience in my life where faith helped me to go through the difficult situation. I believe, there were many…many such experiences; and hopefully in the future, I might dedicate one post for that. persimmon loaf

On life’s journey
Faith is nourishment,
Virtuous deeds are a shelter,
Wisdom is the light by day and
Right mindfulness is the protection by night.
If a man lives a pure life nothing can destroy him;
If he has conquered greed nothing can limit his freedom.
Buddha

PERSIMMON

Recipe adapted from Putneyfarm
Ingredients
• Whole wheat flour – 1 ¾ cup
• Salt – ¾ tsp
• Baking soda – 1 tsp
• Sugar – 1 cup
• Oil – ½ cup
• Eggs – 2
• Milk – 1/3 cup + ½ (1/3 cup)
• Persimmon puree – 1 cup (from fuyu variety)
• Dry fruit, chopped – 1 cup
Method
Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Butter one 7” loaf tin. Sift the flour, baking soda and salt, into a large mixing bowl, add dry fruit into the mixture. In another bowl beat egg and sugar until light and fluffy. Now add milk and puree and beat well, gently mix in the oil. Finally fold everything together. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and then place the pan in the oven. Bake for about 30 to 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow the bread to cool completely in the pan.

Leave a Reply

