Strawberry Chocolate Birthday Cake…since we last talked

After giving Virat a paper to practice, I brought a chair outside, in the balcony.  For me, it is as easy to shed the depression,  formed by either staying indoors or by his exams.   “Just one more day:” saying this to myself,  I looked down.

Life on the street is relatively quiet during afternoons; at times,a few hawkers outbreak the silence but nobody comes out to buy until and  unless it is absolute necessary; not just we humans, even birds show lesser activities; but I enjoy whenever and whatever my dull street offer.  Sitting there,  I watched  how a pair of peacock came and  sat on two weak branches of a tree.  Every time the branch bends to a breaking point  (by their weight)  they flew up, then down again on the same branch, repeatedly.  Didn’t they realized that those were not fit for them? Or they were just enjoying the game?  I really have no idea. And before I watch and inspect their actions more, I got a call from my father, who wanted to know a few details about Virat and Abhinav. After giving him those, I came and sat beside Virat,  to type and document a few memories accumulated in the last few days. 
Yesterday evening, on the way back home, a tree on the side caught my eye. “It can’t be kumquat.”, I said this to myself in low murmur, “Kumquat is a shrub and not a tree”.  To clear my doubts  when I came closer I realized, it was actually a kumquat tree. To capture that surprise when I took out  my camera from the bag I carried,  a boy came and asked if I can fix the setting of his newly bought DSLR. I was aghast and shocked, I sternly asked him to take it to the shop but when I was told that it was an online purchase and its setting has been changed or fiddled by his younger brother in his absence. I was convinced and agreed to give his camera a look. To bring his camera he ran inside his house  and came back carrying his new DSLR. With some strange belief he handed down his 20K something camera in the hands of a stranger(I mean to say,  me). I hold it very carefully even more carefully than my own and when I checked I realized that he was actually right, someone has really played with the setting. I did not do much to the camera I simply, put everything back to the original setting.   The feeling came after setting it successfully  was extraordinary, as if, I have achieved something big; something beyond my capacity. Strawberry chocolate cake
I am sure my brother won’t be happy reading this; if fact, he will surely be agitated and will  give me a nice scolding for entertaining all this.  I understand his concern and will surely be careful next time..  strawberry chocolate cake

Well, that was the cake I made last year for my niece, whose birthday  is on 11th of March.   So I thought before her this year’s cake makes an appearance, it would be better to share her last year’s first.chocolate strawberry cake

Just like her this cake there are many more stories and cakes which were waiting to come up on the blog but for now, I can’t go  any further as he has completed his paper and want me to check it.

Recipe adapted from Add by pinch

Ingredients

• Whole wheat flour – 2 cups
• Castor sugar – 2 cups
• Unsweetened cocoa powder – ¾ cup
• Baking powder – 2 tsp
• Baking soda – 1 ½ tsp
• Salt – 1 tsp
• Coffee powder – 1 tsp
• Milk – 1 cup
• Oil – ½ cup
• Eggs – 2
• Vanilla essence – 2 teaspoons
• Normal water – 1 cup

For ganache
• Dark chocolate – 200gns
• Unsweetened single cream – 100ml
• Liquid glucose – 1 tbsp

For frosting
• Whipped cream – 1 cup
• Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

For sugar syrup
• Water – ½ cup
• Sugar – ½ tsp

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Line two 9 inches cake tin. In a bowl sift flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt and coffee powder. In another bowl whisk eggs and sugar until light and fluffy. Now add milk, oil, water and vanilla essence to the egg batter. Pour this mixture into the dry ingredients, mix well then beat on high speed for about 1 minute.
Divide the batter in two tins and bake for about 20 to 25 minutes or until the knife inserted comes out clean.
Leave this to cool down on a rack.
For ganache
Take chopped chocolate, liquid glucose and cream in a bowl and microwave for about 1 or 2 minutes. Stir to combine. Now put this in the freeze for half an hour to make it thick or of spreadable consistency.
For frosting
Take cream in a cold steel bowl. Add vanilla essence. Now beat this until stiff peaks formed.

For sugar syrup
Add sugar to the boiling water and wait until it cools down.

Assembling
Level the cakes. On a cake board, put the cake upside down. Sprinkle some sugar syrup. Now apply a thick layer of ganache over the cake. Apply sliced strawberries all above the ganache. Now put another cake over (again up side down). Again sprinkle some sugar syrup. Now cover the cake with whipped cream.
For decoration press the leftover crumb through a sieve.

Leave a Reply

