Lately

Life in the last few days has been full of ups and downs.  There were moments when I feel blessed to have all such goodness in my life.    Preparations for his new school year, Holi celebration and wonderfully relaxed time with family were some of the reasons.  But there were a few moments  which were stressful as well as  sad. Yes, sad!! On late Tuesday night when  my mom broke the news of my aunt’s or my buaji’s death to me, I found it difficult to sleep after that and  thought of the conversation, I had with my MIL.  The same day she told me about a dream in which an old lady told her that her time has come.   She wasn’t scared but a bit emotional.  I convinced her that dreams have nothing to do with reality; but deep inside me I too was worried or scared, as I have experienced that dreams do reflects.  And  see, that’s was message (or, may be I think too much).  ‘All white’ and full pants is the new dress code .for my  this ‘soon to be’ teen boy.   In this session, he has brought some considerable good changes in his routine which includes more time out with friends, getting up half an early from his usual wake-up time to be able to get some  time to read newspaper or doing any other thing without feeling rushed up.Yesterday morning while strolling in the park, I  heard a women talking on phone.  She was at  a distance from me even than her whole conversation could be heard easily.  By her talk, it appeared that, it was her  daughter’s first day to the school.   After  getting assurance from the school authorities she puts her head phone  in her ears and began her walk. There was another young mother  who was playing and guiding her son to play badminton.  I smiled to the lady and to her son and went further to hear more such conversation and sights.   Isn’t that amazing that there are certain actions, emotions and  feelings  which we all experience or pass through at some point in our life.    Just like those wonderful ladies I too have acted like a  concerned mother or a coach or guide many times in my life.   As I was busy thinking about all those moment two ladies passed me. And that gave me a chance to grab another  piece of conversation.  They were discussing job and home; one was giving other a few life lessons as how to tackle both effectively.   I tried to follow them to hear more of their conversation but they were too fast to follow.   I took my last few rounds and came back home.Finally summers has arrived in Delhi, so as our need for A.C. .  I hate summers for this particular reason. I love sleeping doors open wide.victoria sponge cakeCARROT SALADLast week I happened to discover one more friend or rather best friend of mine on facebook. I remember having her on my side ‘as a bestie’ gave me so much confidence and high.   We have so many wonderful and silly memories together.  I can’t talk about them right now but one day will surely document all those memories, here.Carrot and coriander SaladNext week on 6th is my 3rd blog anniversary.   I have lots more to say, I hope I will share my next post soon. Before that try these two wonderful recipes.Victoria sponge cake

Recipe adapted from Jamie Oliver
Ingredients

  • Carrots, grated (use the coarse grater) – 3
  • Coriander, with stalk – ½ cup
  • Toasted Sesame seeds – 2 tbsp
  • Walnuts, chopped – 4 to 5
  • Ginger, grated – 1tsp
  • Juice of lemon – 1
  • Green chilli, chopped – 1
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • Extra virgin olive oil – 1tbp

Method
Put  all the above ingredients in a bowl.  And your salad is ready.

Mini Victoria Sponge Cake

Recipe adapted from BBC

Makes 3

Ingredients

For the sponge

  • Butter, at room temperature – 55gms
  • Caster sugar – 55 gms
  • Egg – 1
  • Self raising flour – 55gms
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Filling

  • Whipped cream – 3 tbsp
  • Strawberry jam – 2tbsp
  • Strawberries, chopped – 4

Method

For the sponge

Preheat the oven at 190C.  Lightly grease  6 ramekins with butter. Cream the butter and caster sugar together until the mixture is pale and light. Beat in  the egg and vanilla essence.   Sift the flour into the bowl and fold in until the mixture is glossy and smooth. Divide the mixture between the ramekins and tap to release the air.  Bake for 10 minutes or until golden-brown and springy to the touch. Leave the cakes to cool in the tin for two minutes and then ease onto a wire cooling rack and leave to cool completely. Now take one slice (bottom side up), apply jam and pipe some cream over. Place a few pieces of strawberries then sandwich with another cake.   Do it with another two slices.

Leave a Reply

