a few simple things

Friday morning, I awoke to the first sound of the alarm.  In my half asleep or half awake state of mind I was keenly aware that  there were a few serious preparations need to be done.

Over the last couple  of days I couldn’t manage anything special  for Virat and every morning he woke up asking, “ What I have packed for lunch?”  And that day, I didn’t want to disappoint him so I checked the ingredients in my mind then quickly came into the kitchen.  There, to my surprise a packed packet of bread was lying beside the kitchen drainage pipe; I wonder what made Inder do that; surprised and shocked, when I picked the packet up, a number of ants starts crawling on my hand.   I put that packet back to throw later.    I don’t know from where or why they are appearing, they are just everywhere and will stay that way until the winters start. Though, I try to take every possible care by not leaving anything open even then as you can see they burst even in a closed packet.Ever since Virat has started managing many of the small and big things on his own I have stopped picking him up from the bus stand.    But one fine day, when I asked him does he still feels the need of my coming over to pick him up.   To which, his reply was, “Yes, everyday”

BIRD HOUSE

A few days back, on the way to the hospital (for some regular checkups) I noticed  bird houses on a tree.   They must have been hung by some concerned environmentalists to save the birds from heat.    To see that more closely, I stepped out of the rickshaw and took a few minutes  to fill my eyes with such a beautiful sight. carrot cakeThere are a few ladies in our neighborhood park who always exude blessing and warmness every time you meet or greet them.  And luckily, I happened to be in the park at the same time when they too were strolling, so its good to get my daily dose of  blessings from them.

A few more sights that caught my attention this week.

This cake is so simple to whip but tastes so delicious.

Recipe adapted from BBC goodfood
Ingredients

  • Dark Brown sugar – 175 gm
  • Oil – 175 ml
  • Eggs – 3
  • Grated carrot – 3 medium
  • Chocolate chips – 1 cup
  • Self-raising flour9made with whole wheat flour) – 175 gm
  • Vanilla essence – 2 tsp
  • Baking soda – 1 tsp
  • Milk – ½ cup

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C.  Oil the 9 inch Cake tin.  In a bowl sift flour and soda, tip the chocolate  chips and coat them completely.  In another bowl  whisk sugar and eggs together.  Add the carrots, vanilla essence and oil to the egg mixture and mix just to combine. If the batter is too thick add half cup of milk. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 40- 45 minutes, until it feels firm and springy when you press it in the centre. Cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then turn it out and serve.

 

One thought on “a few simple things

  1. Dear this week I was eagerly waiting for your post as we all know that past was the week which was quite crucial for all of us and you had been handling your health issues all alone . Anyhow your post was anxiously awaited and the moment I started reading it, I was getting her delete touched by the genuineness of feelings and honesty.

    However I little bit feel tha was getting her delete touched by the genuineness of feelings and honesty.
    With your initial words, some curiosity stood Rose however I believe that with the passage thereafter, you change the momentum all of a sudden and failed to keep the peace and change the topic and then brushed aside your previous feelings. The expressions used by you are marvellous and heart touching however try to conclude the discussion you start during the initial phase of your post

    Henceforth I would be eagerly waiting for your next post and try to give you more feedback feedback in at most honest manner, subject to my limited knowledge and understanding . What continue with such appreciative works. All the very very best
    Take full care and rethink about your decision and don’t leave midway your treatment, whatever may be the compelling circumstances.

    Your critique but complete well wisher

Leave a Reply

