Eggless Amaranth and Loquat bars – Sunday

I got up very late  and was happy and relieved  to see them all snoring, as that meant I still have some  time before the hustle bustle of the day starts.  Walk was definitely out of question as the sun’s hotness has already blanketed everything and I was in no mood to sweat myself.   I settled comfortably on  an old chair (which I am thinking of giving a new look ) and get back to article ‘Cafe Society’, I left halfway last night.  It was interesting to read that just like me Parisians too love  ‘People-Watching’ and to them it is a way to come out of themselves.

After finishing reading that, I again gave their rooms a look to hear or see any movement or action coming but  everything looked calm and quiet so I decided to give my this post a start.   As I began typing this, Virat joined and start reading over my shoulder.  He pointed out, “Mom, in indirect speech you can’t enclosed the name of the book in double quotes”.

I immediately made the correction. 

A little while back, I approached a number of people to help me give the feedback of my posts. Inder, Vinay, Dolly and my mom  were kind enough to not  only listen to my limitations, confusions, desires and hopes with much patience, they even sat with me for hours and read word by word with me.  They offered a help when they were aware that it  is not their forte; and that’s where I believe their kindness, their generosity lies.  Someone has rightly said

Generosity lies in small things of life

But in between all this,  I  forget to consider Virat  – who knows me best and has been always a great help.  Immediately as this occurred to me, I took my laptop to him .Without  giving any glance to my post, he flew off saying, “read your paragraph  loudly and you will yourself realize your mistakes”. 

This bowl and these two bottles I bought from a shop near  a mall we visited later that day.

I know, the above three picture are irrelevant for this post but I want them to be shared.  I clicked while going to  the mall.

Eggless Amaranth and Loquat BarsEggless Amaranth and Loquat Bars

This dessert is surely not the best looking dessert  but is truly the best and  healthiest. This didn’t sliced very well because I didn’t let it rest for a while.  Anyways it hardly effected its taste.  In fact, I think it tasted better when it was still warm.

Recipe adapted from White on rice couple. I made a few changes like by replacing the flour with amaranth and by replacing apricot with loquat

Ingredients

  • Loquats, peeled and deseeded – ½ kg
  • Powdered sugar – 1/3 cup + ½ (1/3 cup)
  • Water – 3 tbsp
  • Amaranth flour – ½ cup
  • Powdered brown sugar – ¼ cup
  • Salt – ½ tsp
  • Cold butter – 50 gms
  • Oats – ½ cup
  • Baking soda – 1/8 tsp

Method

Preheat oven at 180 degree C. Butter a 6” square or round tin.  Combine the apricots, white sugar and water in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved and the loquats  are soft (for about 5 minutes.  Puree the mixture  in a blender until smooth.  Set it aside to cool down.   In a bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, brown sugar, salt, and baking soda.  Rub the cold butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse sand.  Press 2/3rds of the crust mixture evenly into the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Spread the loquat puree over the crust bottom. Sprinkle the remaining crust over the top of the loquat puree. Bake for 35 to 40  minutes or until top crust is golden brown. Allow to cool, then slice and serve.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

