Peach Buckle with Amaranth Flour….sweet little things

After sending him school, I spend the morning tending my ‘very few’ plants  and by putting away the groceries, delivered yesterday.  Their summer vacations  are starting from tomorrow, we have lots of things planned – getting our house white wash tops the list.  I am sure in this scorching heat  it’s not going to be a happy task but hopefully things would definitely look and feel better afterwards.   His swimming lessons have already started.   Just like him, I am enjoying every bit of my time over there.  Watching him swim, reading, or, simple strolling in the complex, talking over phone with mom,  doing some yoga in one corner  were some of the few activities that keep me occupied and happy over there.  Day before yesterday, I, even enjoyed  a walk around  a weekly Sunday market. On Sunday, we watched Neerja, a true life story of braveheart Neerja Bhanot(take a few minutes and read about her, over here).  I was really moved by it.  After the movie Virat wanted to know, my take on the situation.    With utmost honesty, I told him that I’d probably do nothing of that sort and might  put my safety over  others.   But then, it is difficult to tell how you  would behave in a particular situation, until and unless  you really are into the situation. He agreed.  I bought these blushing beauties last week.  Till last year, they were  Virat’s least favorite  but surprisingly, this year he is enjoying them over anything other fruit.   Way back in October, I remember sharing my fears when I brought this herb home..  Back then, I wasn’t too sure that it will survive.   But see, it not only survives but even showing good signs of health.      I love using this herb in my everyday cooking. 

Today is his half day in the school.  After school Virat and me will  go and watch Civil War in theater. IMG_1828

Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart
Ingredients

  • Butter – 50 gms
  • Sugar – ¼ cup + 1/8 cup (plus 1 tbsp sugar)
  • Eggs – 2
  • Vanilla essence – 2 tsp
  • Amaranth flour – ½ cup + 1/8 cup
  • Baking powder – 1/8 tsp
  • Salt – ¼ tsp
  • Peaches, chopped and deseeded – ½ kg
  • Sliced almonds – 4 to 5

Method

Preheat oven at 180 degree C. Butter a 5 inches castt-iron skillet or a 5 inches cake tin.  In a bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg one by one and beat after each addition. In another bowl mix flour, baking powder and salt.  Now add the flour mixture into the wet mixture until well combined.  Add essence and fold the peaches in the batter.  Spread batter in prepared skillet. Sprinkle almond and 1 tablespoon sugar over the top.  Bake for about 30 to 35 minutes or until  a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean and topping is golden.

Leave a Reply

