Lemon Crinkle Cookies…a cute story

img_1678

How you are celebrating first day of the New Year?  We’ve got some unwatched DVDs, we are planning to watch one of them tomorrow;  Virat got a kindle last week, so he would definitely be spending lots of time reading;  a new mall has  opened up in our neighborhood we can  visit that too;   I am also keen to  hold a small party at home for Virat’s friends.

s

This morning while waiting for his school bus to arrive I asked Virat if we can organize one party tomorrow?   He politely refused saying that mom, you trouble us so much.

Actually he was right whenever Virat’s friends are home I can’t resist spending time with them.  Though most of the time I am just a  silent spectator of their silly games and activities but  other times you will find me interfering…inquiring about their  school stories, studies and plans (sometimes his friends laugh if off saying they are too young to think about plans).lemon-crinkle-cookies

One such day after refreshing myself by watching them play I made my way to the kitchen to finish cooking and they too left for their home.

After some time they knocked the door again.   “Auntie we required some help from you. Tomorrow is our mom’s birthday and we want to surprise her by making a ‘no-bake’ cake.    After lot of consideration I wrote as well as explained the procedure of no bake chocolate biscuit cake to them.   Next day when they didn’t call to say how they like the cake. I assumed that  something went wrong.  But later in the day, they turned up with  some cake in a box.

“Thank you auntie, everybody loved the cake… but we forgot to add chocolate syrup.”

How it binded then?  I wondered. But before I could reflect what I was thinking or questioning.  His friend gave me the answer saying they they  put the cake in the freezer instead of freeze.

Fighting with my disappointment when I put a small bite into my mouth, I was surprised as it was delicious. I think their love did the magic.

I made this delicious cookies around Christmas.img_3591

Recipe adapted from Cookingclassy
Ingredients

  • All purpose flour – 2 cups
  • Baking powder – 2 tsp
  • Salt – ½ tsp
  • Butter, softened – 150gms
  • Castor sugar – 1 cup
  • Lemon juice – 1 ½ tbsp
  • Egg yolk – 1
  • Egg – 1
  • Lemon zest – 1 tbsp
  • Vanilla essence – ½ tsp
  • Yellow food color – 5 drops
  • Powdered sugar – ½ cup

Method

Preheat oven at 180 degree C. In a bowl sift together flour, baking powder and salt.

With an electric beat, beat butter, sugar and lemon zest until pale and fluffy. Mix in egg then blend in egg yolk. Add lemon juice, vanilla essence and yellow food color and mix until combined. Finally add the dry ingredients into the wet.

Pour powdered sugar into a small bowl.  Scoop dough out about 1 ½ tbsp at a time and shape into a ball, then drop in powdered sugar and roll to evenly coat.  Transfer to a baking paper, repeat with remaining dough and space cookies 2 inches apart on baking sheet.  Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes.  Remember to rotate the tray in between.  Transfer the tray on a rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

