this week….

img_4679

After all the greys and whites it feels great to see spectrum of colors in the balconies of our neighbors and in the parks.

Sun has finally returned to our little corner of our house it feels great to pull a chair outside,  in our little balcony (in the comfort  of our home) and enjoy the sunshine.

Virat’s  school session is ending soon.  His final exams are starting from 27th of February.

After a failed attempt last week, I am hoping to try macaron again this week.

Inder and I have been craving gajar gobhi achhar (cauliflower, turnip and carrot pickle) all this month, I hope this week I will take some break from baking and will make a small batch  before the season’s end.

I have been eyeing a beautiful and costly earring for long, I will probably order it this week.

This week I can also see myself washing all curtains of the house  providing someone gives me a helping hand to take them down.

I am considering starting my baking class once again.  My SIL has promised me that  she would be my first student.

We are expecting a few guests next week, we are looking forward.strawberry , pomegranate and kinnow muffinI made this fruit filled dessert last week, I can say that so far it is my best bake.   Though Virat doesn’t like the mushiness fruit provides in this dessert but we all loved it.  Next day it gets better in taste.  Strawberry, pomegranate and Kinnow muffinStrawberry, pomegranate and Kinnow muffin

Recipe adapted from Bake from Scratch (with a few changes)

Strawberry, Pomegrante and Kinnow Muffin

Ingredients

  • Whole wheat flour – 2 ½ cup
  • Baking powder – 2 tsp
  • Salt – 1 tsp
  • Granulated sugar – 1 cup
  • Thick curd – 1 cup
  • Fresh malta juice – ½ cup
  • Strawberries, chopped – 2 cups
  • Eggs – 3 cups
  • Oil – ½ cup
  • Pomegranate juice reduction (In a small pan bring 1 cup of juice, ½ teaspoon of lemon juice and 1 tbsp of sugar  to a boil over medium heat. When it reduces to ½ cup, switch off the gas. Keep it aside to cool down)
  • Vanilla essence – 2tsp

Method

Preheat oven at 180 degree C.   Line 15 medium size muffin cups with paper liners or grease them well.  In a bowl beat eggs and sugar until light and fluffy. Add curd, Malta juice and vanilla essence. Beat the batter for 3 to 4 minutes. In another bowl whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  Fold these dry ingredients into the wet. Finally pour the oil and mix it again. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups. Top each muffin with  half  tablespoon of pomegranate juice  Reduction, and use a wooden pick to swirl.  Bake for  25 to 30 minutes. Let cool in pans for 5 minutes. Serve warm http://www.bakefromscratch.com/strawberry-balsamic-muffins/or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

