Flourless Desiccated Coconut Cookies

flourless desiccated coconut cookies

I made this long time ago, but at that time I didn’t started this blog. Kids really liked them and they often asked me to bake them again. But I always longed to try new desserts, making the same desserts doesn’t motivate me. I was waiting that once I will try it again than I will post it with more pictures.  I really wanted this recipe to be in my blog.  But now when it’s  been  already a year and now I have realized that I will not try it again because there are many more desserts, which I am excited to try.

Today while looking at some of my old photographs I decided that I will share my this  recipe too.  It was really tasty with no flour, no butter, so you can have them as many. You can use any other nut powder instead of coconut.   Actually Shaheen of Purple Foodie fame used hazelnut powder instead of Coconut.

One more, a very important thing I want to share that don’t forget to use silipat or parchment paper because these cookies doesn’t have oil in them so they will stick to the bottom if not lined properly.

I remember I tried this recipe with almonds powder and I ignored her instruction of using parchment paper and they all sticked to the tray.   I have seen that whether required or not most of the bloggers asked to use baking paper or parchment paper in all the recipes but actually if a recipe has  sufficient amount of oil or butter in it, it doesn’t require any thing.  Baking paper is something which is not easily available here and their wrong instructions wastes my so precious paper.

Meringue

After a failed attempt I  tried again but this time with a little cheaper ingredient, desiccated coconut and followed her instructions very carefully. And voila as you can see the result yourself.
Recipe adapted from Purple Foodie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup desiccated coconut, lightly toasted
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 egg whites
  • a pinch of salt
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • Choco chips  for garnish (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat to 160°C/325°F. Line two baking sheets with      Silpat or parchment paper.
  2. Pulse sugar in a food processor until finely ground.      Scrape into a large bowl.
  3. Beat egg whites and salt in another large bowl with an      electric mixer on medium-high speed until stiff peaks form.
  4. Using a silicone spatula, fold the egg whites into the      nut mixture. Add vanilla and gently but thoroughly mix until combined.
  5. Transfer the mixture to a disposable piping bag and      snip off the tip. Pipe the batter on the Silpat, making sure to keep a      uniform size under 1 inch in diameter, as well as maintaining a finger’s      distance between cookies.
  6. Tap the baking sheet a few times on the counter
  7. Place the baking sheet in the centre of the oven and      bake until golden brown, 5-7 minutes. Switch the pans back to front. Keep      an eye on it; it goes from golden brown to brown very quickly
  8. Immediately put a chocochip on each cookie, so that it      sticks to it.
  9. Let cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes.

1 thought on “Flourless Desiccated Coconut Cookies

Leave a comment