Indian gooseberry/amla Pickle….preserving best of winter in a jar

amla pickle

Please pardon me again for posting one more non baking recipe  on a baking site.

Pickles, jams, soups  or may be many more such  recipes might be unheard of on a baking blog or  you may not want to see but I try to   put them in between my baking posts for a change.  I  really found some of these recipes really interesting and worth sharing. I promise you, I will compensate my this kinds of posts with some very challenging baking recipes next.

amla

Indian gooseberry is known for its high nutritional and remedial values like  it purifies blood, checks diabetes, relieves constipation, good for hair, controls cold etc.  It is high in vitamin C.

amla pickle

Every year I try to make ample use of this fruit in  juices, condiments, murabbas  or as a side dish but never thought or heard of amla pickle and when this year I was in a drive to fill my jars with jams, suddenly,  I crave for spicy and I thought why not pickle. Mango, chillies,  lemon  and garlic pickles were common pickles  but I found this recipe  very innovative and made unlike other pickles. Though when you will read the recipe,  you might  wonder so much salt but believe me after some days the taste of salt will  mellow down and it will cover up the sourness of Indian Gooseberry.  So don’t wait further to make this pickle.

amla murabba

Recipe adapted from Sanjeev Kapoor

preparation for amla pickle

Ingredients 

  • Indian gooseberry (amla) – 500 gm
  • Sea salt – 1 ½ cups
  • Turmeric powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Sesame Oil – 1 ½ cup
  • Red Chilli powder  – 1 ½ cups
  • Mustard powder – 3 tbsp
  • Asafoetida – 1 tsp

Method

Cut each amla into thin segments. Add one cup of salt and half a teaspoon of turmeric powder, stir and keep covered in a glass bottle for two to three days. Toss the bottle daily a couple of times but do not use a spoon or stir with hand. Heat oil to smoking point and allow to cool. Take the remaining sea salt in a bowl and crush slightly. Add red chilli powder, remaining turmeric powder, mustard powder and mix well. Add amla (no need to wash amla or throw liquid which might have collected in the glass bottle) and mix well. When the oil has cooled slightly add asafoetida. Cool the oil some more and add to the amla mixture. Transfer the pickle into sterilized glass or porcelain bottles and keep covered tightly. Pickle will be ready in three to four days and will keep for at least three to four months.

amla pickle

Leave a comment