Chocolate Strawberry cake…..on Abhinav’s birthday, my biggest cake ever

Strawberry Chocolate Cake

This was again a long pending post and the reasons behind this were many.

Firstly,  I wanted to post this one in a very special way  by including photos of Abhi’s birthday party where  we too went, otherwise,  we elders were always cut out from the list  in children’s birthday party.  Secondly, due to some problem in transferring photos from my digital camera  to my computer,  made me late in posting this post. But my dear husband has somehow managed to solve my this  problem too.

Abhi's Birthday

Secondly the steps, involved in this cake  were too many and writing about each of them seems a big task to me

Chocolate strawberry cake

I must confess that I was somehow avoiding  making any birthday cake because whosoever give me order for his or her  birthday cake, I think  look wise,   I am not able to do justice because whenever I visit any bakery shop I realized how neatly or beautifully they decorate their cakes. But baking a cake for my blog is easy because nobody felt bad because at that time it’s an added treat.

Strawberry

But someday before birthday, my sister and his son, Abhi  visited my home and  Abhi told me, that he wanted to have  cake made by me only, on his birthday.  I was delighted (poor kids never fail to motivate me). Love them for that.   When asked which cake he wants?   From kids asking which cake is stupid, we all know their obvious answer,  but size does matters because I haven’t bake a cake more than 2 kg.  He told me that gathering would be around 60 to 70.  At first, I was scared by hearing and feeling like escaping somewhere, but on my son’s insistence I agreed.  I began calling each and every other person, who knows a little bit of baking; I had a feeling that a cake of around 7 kg would be required for that  much gathering , but one of my friend told me that 4 kg would be enough.

Chocolate strawberry cake

By then, I had a plan, how I will manage.  You know after finishing my this cake first thing I did was buying  an 10 and 12 inches cake tins.  In future, I can manage big orders too.

Chocolate strawberry cake

Though the cake was a little less for them but I can hear all appreciation from them. Whosoever was there was appreciating and inquiring whole lots of question about my baking, making me the centre of attraction.    Can’t expect a better feedback than that.

Strawberry filling

So after  happy ending of that cake, I must thanks Abhi’s  grandparents and his aunts on trusting me and allowing me to bake this big cake in their gathering.  Their confidence in me has build my confidence too.  Hope they will continue to give me the opportunity in future.

I adapted the recipe from  Rosy Levy’s “The Cake Bible”.  This was my first  and  most expensive baking book,  which I bought online

I have doubled the quantity mentioned in the recipe.

I have  two 9 inches cake tin.  I divided the batter into two and baked them.  Later I again made the batter and repeated the steps.

Remember once the batter is made, it has to go into the oven directly because  much air is incorporated into this which will sank down if not put into the oven immediately  So now you know it does takes lots of time but once the sponges are ready things were easy.  . I made the sponges a day before and assemble them on the day itself.

uniced cake

Ingredients

  • Dark Chocolate – 227 gm
  • Boiling Water – 1 cup
  • Eggs – 9
  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • Whole wheat flour – 120gm
  • Corn flour – 30 gm
  • Boiled and cooled water ¾ cup (for sprinkling)

Ingredients for Strawberry Filling

  • Chopped and diced strawberry – 1/2 cup
  • Sugar – 1 tbsp

Decoration

Method

Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Line two 9” tins with butter paper and then grease the butter paper too.

In a heavy pan bring chocolate and water to a boil over low heat, stirring constantly for 5 minutes or until the chocolate thickens to a pudding like consistency.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs and sugar  on high speed for 10 minutes with hand blender.

Sift corn flour and wholewheat flour twice.

Sift the ½ of the above flour over the egg mixture and fold it in gently.  Repeat with the remaining flour  until all flour has disappeared.  Fold in the chocolate mixture until incorporated.

Pour immediatey into the prepared pan equally.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until a skewer came out clean.  Let it cool on wire rack.  Gently loosen the sides.

Method of Strawberry filling

In a pan over low heat bring strawberry and sugar to a boil, stirring constantly until strawberry softens and the sugar dissolves. Let it cool completely before filling.

Assembling of cake

On a 10” cake board, place a cake.  Sprinkle some water over it.

Frost the top of the cake with whipped cream and drop some strawberry filling over the icing, now place another layer and again sprinkle some water.  Now apply icing all over the cake and then decorate as you want.

1 thought on “Chocolate Strawberry cake…..on Abhinav’s birthday, my biggest cake ever

Leave a comment