Mango Panna Cotta..on World Environment Day…a plea

mango panna cotta

Poem by me

I am feeling very excited to share, my first experience of writing any poem(or whatever you call it). I have never tried it before, it just happened by chance when in the morning,  I was reading the newspaper and  I came to know that today is World Environment Day.  I brought my diary to write something on it, which accidently became something like this.  It’s just my way to see nature, which I wish will always remain untouched by the harm we are doing to it.

I  gave this poem to my son to read and correct.  He said, “Mummy, you must add some rhyming words to this”. I tried and added some and made some corrections too.  Finally, when I recited this one to him, he loved it.

A message and a plea to all my dear readers – We must take adequate steps to save the mother Earth by saving electricity and water. Planting more and more trees and reduces the carbon footprints.

On this day I explored one more possibility of gift of nature “Mango”.

Mango Panna Cotta

Whenever you pass through a cart filled with sunny mangoes, which can be found just  every corner, you can’t stop yourself from buying them. This is season when this king of fruit is available in plenty. When I found that our freeze is loaded with them and in this summer they tend to became soft after a day or two. Once any fruit became soft then nobody touches them. As a good homemaker I can’t let anything go waste. I decided to use some in desserts.

mango panna cotta

Color of my panna cotta was not so yellow because I used Safeda variety of mango instead of Alphonso that resulted in dull color but   tastewise it was bowl licking good. Last year, I tried three different varieties of panna cotta – one was orange and chocolate panna cotta then cranberry jelly and vanilla panna cotta after that a healthy version of yogurt panna cotta and this too was as delicious as my earlier ones.

Mango panna cotta

Ingredients

  • Mango puree – 2 cup (out of 2 big mangoes)
  • Sugar – 1/4 cup or more (according to taste)
  • Low fat cream – 200ml
  • Gelatin – 2 tsp
  • cold water – 1/4 cup

Method

Sprinkle the gelatin over water in a bowl and let stand for 5 minutes until gelatin is dissolved. Meanwhile, heat the cream with sugar  in a saucepan over medium heat until the cream starts to boil. Remove from heat and whisk in the gelatin.  Whisk in the cream and mango puree and  pour this in the serving glasses.  Allow to cool this in the freeze for 5 to  6 hours, in winter it will take longer time to set.  Serve  chill.

mango panna cotta

 

3 thoughts on “Mango Panna Cotta..on World Environment Day…a plea

Leave a comment